Promenade des Anglais 

Don’t tell me that this is an ode for the dead
Don’t tell me that this poem
is a hate-speech
Don’t call him a Muslim
Don’t tell us he acted in the name of religion
Don’t ever tell me that the muslims in the world have been marginalised
Don’t tell us what he did was in the name of Islam
Don’t tell me he was human
Don’t tell me he had a conscience
Don’t tell me you can find ways to explain this barbarity
Don’t tell me the “French” are to be blamed for this
Don’t tell me that Muslims in France are disenfranchised or have been segregated
Don’t tell us that: we won’t believe you
Don’t tell me that this perpetrator
stood for a cause
Don’t ever tell us that he went out to avenge something or some acts
Don’t tell me he had blood running through his veins
Don’t tell me he was once referred to as a son
Don’t tell me his name
Don’t tell me where he comes from
Don’t tell me anything about his
character
Don’t tell me which neighbourhood
he grew up in
Don’t tell me anything about his family
Don’t tell me that his children
looked up to him and ever called
him “Dad
Don’t tell me that someone is to be blamed for his actions
Don’t tell me that France is a segregated or homophobic country
Don’t tell me that Muslims of France have no say
Don’t ever blame his actions on Islamic teachings
Don’t tell me that his family
is responsible for this
Don’t tell me that every muslim is a terrorist, a timed bomb whichcould explode any moment from now
Don’t ever tell me someone’s
inactions caused these horrible scenes
Don’t tell me you’re not moved
Don’t tell me you’re not weeping for the dead
Don’t tell me your heart is not aching
Don’t ever tell me this is not a sad reality
Don’t tell me that Muslim should be victimised from today
Don’t tell me that any Arab looking person should be stopped by police and interrogated
Don’t tell me that it’s a fight between Islam and the rest
Don’t tell us that France stands alone
Don’t tell us that Nice stands alone in this fight
Don’t tell me that Promenade des Anglais will forever be the same

Not in anyone’s name
This is just not right

Leave a Reply

